top of page

The EAFA Awards Evening

The England Amputee Football Association Presentation Evening returned after a three-year absence on Saturday (19th November) as over 150 guests came together to celebrate team and individual success at the Wychwood Park Hotel and Golf Club.

Guest speaker and sports broadcaster Peter Stevenson kicked the evening off with a personal introduction before running the guests through the order of play on the night.

After indulging on a three-course meal, Elaine Oakey got the first of the awards underway as the charity came together to recognise all participants (players and staff) from the 2022 junior programme for their fantastic efforts, energy and skill throughout the season.

Soon after, EAFA chairman Steve Johnson commenced with the league awards as the awards were split into 12 categories. The first of the awards saw all eight league clubs recognise their Club Player of the Year(s) with four England internationals, Sonny Rocket (Newcastle United), Liam Burbridge (Everton), Matthew Dean (Portsmouth) and Kieran Lambourne (Peterborough United) all picking up awards for their respective clubs.

The individual club awards were then followed by the EAFL Golden Boot and Golden Glove winners.

A league title and 16 goals saw Portsmouth’s TJ Yates collect the Golden Boot award whilst Thomas Atkinson was again in amongst the action as he was awarded with the Golden Glove keeping four clean sheets throughout the campaign.

With individual awards complete it was time to recognise club achievements throughout the season.

Portsmouth enjoyed a memorable year as they were the first team to complete a domestic treble (Premiership, Premiership Play-Off, Premiership League Cup) whilst Peterborough United completed a domestic double (Championship and Championship Play-Off).

However, there were two other clubs who engraved their name onto a trophy or two. Arsenal managed to pick up the Championship League Cup and Manchester City were crowned FA Disability Cup champions following their 1-0 win over defending champions, Portsmouth at St George’s Park.

England first team captain David Tweed was next to take to the stage. Individuals from the England NxtGen squad, international debutants and staff were all acknowledged for their commitment to the programme.

To conclude the evening Owen Coyle presented match officials and sponsors with a plate to recognise their support - without them the EAFA programme wouldn’t be possible. As well as volunteers with five or more years’ service to EAFA.

With the night drawing to a close the final accolade was in the form of the TJ4 award, the nominees should be recognised as over-performing in their role for the EAFA whether that be on or off the field as a player, staff member or wider EAFA volunteer. Ian Clarke, Elaine Oakey and Dave Tweed were the three nominees with the latter sweeping the award.

Junior Awards:

Junior Participation – Freddy Mahoney, Connor-Jameson Donaghey, Finley Tuck, Ben Moore, Cody Rayner, Rio Woolf, Isaac Crowther, Charlie Hewson & Jack Wimpenny

Junior Staff Recognition – Harry Smith, Elaine Oakey, Scott Rogers, Will Yung, Steve Johnson, Jamie Oakey, Sean Jackson, Thomas Atkinson, Andy Rohman, Liam Burbridge, Rhys Pountain, Lloyd Jones & Ian Clarke

EAFF Junior Camp - Connor-Jameson Donaghey, Finely Tuck, Rio Woolf, Isaac Crowther, Charlie Hewson & Jack Wimpenny

League Awards:

Club Player of the Year(s) – Sonny Rocket (Newcastle United), Simon Collinson (West Bromwich Albion), Ben O’Brien (Manchester City), Liam Burbridge (Everton), Matthew Dean (Portsmouth), Kieran Lambourne (Peterborough United), Isacc Addai (Arsenal) & Peter Salvage (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Golden Boot – TJ Yates (Portsmouth)

Golden Glove – Thomas Atkinson (Newcastle United)

EAFL League Winners – Portsmouth (Premiership) & Peterborough United (Championship)

EAFL Play-Off Winners – Portsmouth (Premiership) & Peterborough United (Championship)

EAFL Cup Winners – Portsmouth (Premiership) & Arsenal (Championship)

FA Disability Cup Winners – Manchester City

EAFF Champions League – Manchester City (3rd place)

England Awards:

NxtGen Squad Recognition – Simon Collinson & Mark Smith

International Debutants – Mark Smith, Ashleigh Abbot & Phil Grace

Staff Recognition - Alison McCaul, Ashleigh Abbott, Graham Brade, Harry Smith, Mark Dolan, Willy Yung & Ryan Cattermole.

World Cup Squad – Ian Clarke (Referee), Owen Radley (Referee), Kieran Lamborune, Thomas Atkinson, Sean Jackson, Nathan Fisher, Helder Silva, Martin Heald, Harry Ash, Jamie Oakey, Matthew Dean, Rhyce Ramsden, Jamie Tregaskiss, Liam Burbridge, Dave Tweed, TJ Yates, Owen Coyle, Dave Maclean, Scott Rogers, Andy Rohman, Dan Towers, Louis Mayers, Tim Pattenden, Elizabeth Aitcheson, Niall Hogan, Gary Faber, Michael Clucas, Steve Johnson, Lloyd Jones, Rhys Pountain & Jake Kirkman

Referees Award – Owen Radley, Terry Jeyes, Coral John, Ian Clarke

Sponsors Award – Wychwood Hotel and Golf Club, NAR Sports, Glasdon UK & Lloreal UK

England Service Award – Dave Maclean, Niall Hogan, Lloyd Jones, Andy Rohman & Tim Pattenden

Tom Jordan #4 Award – Ian Clarke, Dave Tweed (Winner) & Elaine Oakey


bottom of page